European Union – how does it work?

European Union - when was it founded? For what? Who founded it? Which countries currently belong to the EU? The following text is automatically translated. You have noticed an error - please let us know.

European Union – what is it, how does it work?

European Union is a group of democratic European countries, the countries came together, to improve living conditions and increase safety while avoiding another world war, These countries decided to cooperate and help each other.

How was the European Union founded?

The idea was born after the Second World War. Countries in Europe have begun to see that there are more benefits to working together than fighting. The six countries decided to unite with each other under the name of the European Coal and Steel Community. They were: Belgium, France, the Netherlands, Luxembourg, Germany and Italy.

Then other European countries joined, and in 1993 the European Union was officially established. Currently, the European Union includes 27 countries:

  • Austria,
  • Belgium,
  • Bulgaria,
  • Croatia,
  • Cyprus,
  • Czech Republic,
  • Denmark,
  • Estonia,
  • Finland,
  • France,
  • Greece,
  • Spain,
  • Netherlands,
  • Ireland,
  • Lithuania,
  • Luxembourg,
  • Latvia,
  • Malta,
  • Germany,
  • Poland,
  • Portugal,
  • Romania,
  • Slovakia,
  • Slovenia,
  • Sweden,
  • Hungary,
  • Italy.

In June 2016, the United Kingdom decided to leave the European Union, which entered into force on January 31, 2020.

What are the goals of the European Union?

  1. Promoting peace, European values ​​and the well-being of its citizens;
  2. Ensuring freedom and security to the countries of the Union;
  3. Combating social exclusion and discrimination among EU members;
  4. Ensuring justice and care for every person;
  5. Protection of all languages ​​and cultures;
  6. Strengthening the European economy and the single currency.

European Union values

And what are the values ​​of the European Union?

  • human dignity;
  • freedom;
  • democration;
  • equality;
  • human rights.

What is the Schengen area?

The European Union created the Schengen area in 1995. It is an EU area with no controls at the internal borders of EU countries. In this area, you can move freely between countries. There is no need to undergo border checks. As a result, EU residents can live, study, work and receive a pension in any country in the EU. I can also easily travel between these countries which makes it easy to travel to these other countries for holidays, work or study.

How does the European Union work?

The most important institutions of the European Union are:

  1. European Commission – represents and cares for the interests of the entire European Union. It submits proposals for changes to the law, policy and action programs.
  2. Council of Europe – it is an intergovernmental organization which sets the Union’s development objectives, strengthening democracy, human rights and the observance of the law.
  3. The European Parliament – it is an EU institution elected by all the inhabitants of the EU. It has 3 locations: Brussels, Luxembourg and Strasbourg. Parliament’s most important tasks include: discussing proposed laws, approving the European Union budget, and expressing consent to agreements with countries that are not EU members. Parliament controls the European Commission.
  4. The Council of the European Union – The Council of the EU is an important decision-making body. Its most important tasks include: negotiating and adopting legislative acts; concluding international agreements; creating a common EU foreign and security policy and passing the EU budget.
  5. The Court of Justice of the European Union – is designed to ensure proper compliance with the law, in every country of the European Union.
  6. Court of Auditors – it is an institution that checks whether European Union money is spent properly.
Skip to content